Ra-ra-ramen time!

Frankly, I’ve never been a huge ramen-fan but wowza was I impressed by the great Kinton Ramen. This place is considered the grand ol’ daddy of ramen in T.O and I couldn’t agree any more. It was a cold winter (spring?) afternoon and the BF and I stopped by Kinton before catching the Raptors game (intense game against OKC!)

107

I ordered the Shoyu ramen which consists of soy sauce, kinton pork, beansprout, scallion, nori seaweed, and a seasoned egg. Customers can choose ‘light, regular, or rich’ for their soup base and ‘belly or shoulder’ for their pork. I chose regular and belly (all about that fatty goodness!)

The award-winning part of the dish was definitely the soup; I seriously couldn’t get enough of it. The noodles were delicious but a little bit on the stiff side for me. The soft pork belly was a great addition to the meal as it melted in my mouth. I took a bite into the boiled egg and to my surprise, the yolk started oozing out. I had to take a second or two to appreciate this masterpiece of an egg. The portion is a perfect size for anyone who is hungry and ready to chow down.

106

He ordered Spicy Garlic ramen consisting of chili pepper, kinton pork, beansprout, scallion, and one big scoop of freshly grated garlic. The garlic was a bit overpowering but you can always take away half of huge glob.

108

We also ordered the Hot Karaage (spicy fried chicken) and it was cooked perfectly with a nice and spicy coating on the outside and tender chicken mean on the inside. I was in meat heaven.

Kinton failed to disappoint and I walked out of the restaurant with one happy stomach!

Food: 9/10
Service: 8/10
Ambiance: 8/10 (izakaya-like; lively, noisy, entertaining)

Kinton Ramen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

